Sunday, December 4, 2011

2011 Mix Tape #1

Here's a mix tape featuring music exclusively from 2011. Some of the tracks here come from albums on the forthcoming Hollow Press Best of 2011 list but several are from elsewhere. There's a good bit of diversity here, from the moody, gothic atmosphere of Zola Jesus' pop to the relentlessly abrasive mechanical percussion of Red Horse's sound art, and from the melancholy drone of Nest to the cosmic synths of Motion Sickness of Time Travel, with plenty in between. Take a listen. A couple more mixes should be on the way before year's end!

1. Zola Jesus - Vessel
2. Blackout Beach - Hornet's Fury into the Bandit's Mouth
3. Red Horse - Part 1
4. Pete Swanson - Misery Beat
5. Roll the Dice - See You Monday
6. Juv - Lys
7. Julie Holter - The Falling Age
8. Isidore Ducasse - Here's Lies a Youth Who Died of Consumption
9. Matt Christensen - Simple Lives Mean Nothing
10. Nest - Koretz's Meteor
11. Motion Sickness of Time Travel - Like Dunes
12. Tim Hecker - Analog Paralysis, 1978
13. David Lynch - She Rise Up
14. The Caretaker - Mental Caverns Without Sunshine

No comments:

Post a Comment